These Things Are Required

It’s mid-morning and I have had such a busy time that I plan to take a short nap.

It seems that the younger generation does not always understand certain protocols. For instance, my middle son said he was coming to see me today. He was not sure what time he would get here. He wanted us to go to either lunch or dinner. It was Tuesday when I received that email. He is desperately trying to prove he doesn’t need my involvement in his life. He has found a full-time job and moved away. I know he’s grown. I know he could live the rest of his life without me. I’ll be glad when he realizes it himself. Until then, he will not follow up his message about coming to visit today. The courteous thing to do, if nothing else, is to send a brief note when you’re leaving home so the person doesn’t sit around and wait all day for you, while hoping you show up.

Another thing that happened today was I went to get my pets their flea treatments from the vet. My youngest son went with me and went in to pick these things up as my arthritis is bothering me, and I wanted to just wait in the car. He went in and finally came out with the medicine. The dog’s pill looked right. The cat’s medicine looked . . . wait a minute. It was in a purple box. Her flea killer is in an orange box. On closer inspection, I noticed the purple box was for cats over 9 pounds in weight. Hunter weighs a little over 7 pounds. What would it have done to her, if I’d put on the stronger medicine? So I sent my son back in (thank God! I didn’t have to get in and out of the car twice to handle this!) and he got the receptionist to switch the medicine for him. She argued that that was what we got last time. Uh, no, it was not. I looked at the box from the last time and that’s why I noticed the color was wrong. The old box is orange. (See – there’s a reason to never throw anything away! But I digress.) The girl behind the counter argued that the cat may even weigh more now. Cats get bigger as they age. Anthony said he bit his tongue not to ask how much bigger she thought a 13 year old cat was going to get? He was aware that I was still waiting in the car. No time to argue.

She exchanged the box of medicine, but what bothers me about this and other encounters nowadays is the lack of apology and even small acceptance of blame. She made a mistake. It might have cost my cat her life. The girl who made the mistake owed us an apology. “I’m sorry, I’ll get the right one” would have sufficed. All this foolishness about it being what we got last time or even the assumption that a 13 year old cat would have gotten bigger was uncalled for.

In the old days, we had rules of conduct. It seems there are none today. I’m going to nap until my son arrives, if he does come to visit today. He can put the medicine on the cat when he gets here. He’ll never know why I waited for him to do it. He’s always been the one to dose the cat. Since he’s not communicating when and if he’s still coming to see me, I’ll save that task for him.

Leave a Reply

