Sickness

I am home sick today. I no longer like doctors or view them as my friends. They ask stupid questions. One question asked today was “Do you have any aches or pains?”

Hey, I wanted to say . . . check the birthdate on my chart . . . what do you think?

Instead I just said, “All the time”, and watched as he keyed something in on his fancy/smancy keyboard. Is it just me, or does he look at his computer more than he looks at me? He did say “um-humm” as he keyed, so who knows what any of it meant?

I told him I’d had a terrible time hearing the appointment person on the phone. He said something about my eardrums and what the infection I had in my head was doing to them.

I said if I was an old dog, I would just put me to sleep. For that is totally how I feel. I feel so bad today. This young doctor has no idea how bad I feel.

He prescribed an antibiotic and cough medicine and said I did look a little rough around the edges this morning. He seemed quite pleased with himself as he left the exam room with a cheery, “Hope you feel better!”

Yeah? Who’s going to help me get off this table? I was the only one left in the room. I started to lie back down and just wait for someone to come into the room, but I don’t like doctors and I wanted to get the hell out of there.

Now I’m waiting for my son to go pick up my prescription. I can’t decide if I feel worse or just the same amount of badness. I still think the kindest thing to do would be to put me down like an old dog, but maybe when the medicine gets here, I’ll feel better?

 

Leave a Reply

