Is He ADHD ?

My Baby Boy Is Home!

Of course I don’t refer to him as that anymore, except in my own mind. He is and always will be my baby boy. His name is Anthony and he had been gone for about a year. We’d skyped and emailed and messaged, but it’s not the same as seeing that he is yes, still alive and well, and looks to have grown a little taller and is so wise and world knowledgeable!

He came in at 3:00 am Wednesday night (Thursday morning). My oldest son, George, went and picked Anthony up from the airport at that terrible hour. The final flight Anthony took on his journey home from Hong Kong was delayed several hours. That’s why the late arrival.

That night I got four hours sleep. I’d spent the whole day praying and stressing and trying to mentally hold all three flights in the air as he jetted from place to place. The next afternoon I took a short nap. We went out to eat for lunch. I cooked breakfast and dinner. We went to the grocery store. We did a lot of standing and walking, which my health dictates I not do anymore. But it was fun! I was having fun!

On Friday I didn’t get a nap. We went to McDonald’s for a meal. We ate leftovers for other meals. I tried to drive to my old work place to pick up some personal items I left behind and my asthma decided it didn’t like the air outside and I had to come back before I ever got there. My son, Anthony and I also took some bags of things to Goodwill and looked around a little, while we were there. That was more standing and walking.

Friday night I sent a friend an email about how tired I was and how much we’d done! He promptly replied with the question, “Is Anthony ADHD?”.  What???? ADHD stands for

  1. Attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) is a problem of not being able to focus, being overactive, not being able control behavior, or a combination of these. For these problems to be diagnosed as ADHD, they must be out of the normal range for a person’s age and development.

Well, no, he’s not overly-active for a 26 year old. He just was born to an older mother, who has continued to age and now, although she is proud of every wrinkle, she cannot keep up with someone in their twenties in terms of energy and stamina. No, he’s not ADHD. I’m just OLD.

Leave a Reply

