The Mountain Top

Hi there, Fellow Seniors,

Do you ever feel like you’ve reached a mountain top in life? Do you see things and situations you’ve seen before and think, “Ah, I know what’s going to happen next?”

I wonder how many different human emotions and situations there are in this world? Some must truly be universal. I read once that anything you want to know how to handle has been handled in the Bible. Just read it for instructions. There are many unusual things in the Bible – things I didn’t realize were said or done in there until I read it all the way through. Up until Revelation, which I admit scares the hell out of me. I can read it in bits and pieces but don’t think I’ve read it the whole way through – even after my grandmother showed me the blessing at the end that is given to everyone who reads the whole book.

My grandmother, now, like her, I am comfortable saying, “Wait and see.” There are many predictable situations out there, if you have managed to climb to the top of the mountain of years you’ve spent in this world. You can see in all directions. You can predict what will happen. You can prepare.

Ecclesiastes 3King James Version (KJV) 1-8

To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven:

A time to be born, and a time to die; a time to plant, and a time to pluck up that which is planted;

A time to kill, and a time to heal; a time to break down, and a time to build up;

A time to weep, and a time to laugh; a time to mourn, and a time to dance;

A time to cast away stones, and a time to gather stones together; a time to embrace, and a time to refrain from embracing;

A time to get, and a time to lose; a time to keep, and a time to cast away;

A time to rend, and a time to sew; a time to keep silence, and a time to speak;

A time to love, and a time to hate; a time of war, and a time of peace.

Leave a Reply

