Tell Me Something

I often read articles and think to myself, as I finish them, I already knew all that. What a waste of time.

I like for people to tell me something that I don’t already know.

It seems the older I get, the less this happens.

That may be why I embrace technology. It’s always changing and it’s a marvel to older people. I think older people are viewed as not technologically savvy, but they may just be hiding their knowledge. Sort of like when your young child tells you something simple, like “the sky is blue”, you don’t say “I know that.” You smile and indulge their fascination with these new things they’re learning.

I’ve been told that I’m a great listener. I listen with my whole being and try to figure out what is being said and WHY. Sometimes I’m trying to figure a person out; other times I’m trying to diagnose a reading problem a child has. I also listen closely because I often learn things from others.

I wish there were a shiny planet where us oldsters could go and be around new and fascinating things. The other day in a store I heard a middle aged person using the word “Senior Citizen” like it was a bad thing. It is not. It’s actually a new exciting time in your life when as much change happens as happened in your teens and pre-teens. The problem is we aren’t allowed to explore and take time to figure out what these changes are. Everyone wants us to continue to be like we always were and that’s not going to happen anymore than you can make a teenager ride a tricycle.

Tell me something I don’t already know and I’ll listen to you for a long time.

Leave a Reply

