Observer

I’m just an observer in many facets of life now. I just read that NC did not scrap the Common Core as expected and I was disappointed briefly. Then I remembered I’m not teaching anymore and it will not have any direct impact on my life. Yet, I observe this part of life and feel sorry for the teachers who must continue to teach using Common Core Standards.

I watch the neighborhood children board the school bus daily. I’m outside with my geriatric dog who cannot wait for daylight to go out in the mornings, and I see the children trudging to the bus stop in the dark. How does that make any sense? School should start later.

I have many opinions, but to voice them seems to invite argument.

I was one of the few (the only one?) who objected to “participation trophies” when my sons played sports. “What does a trophy mean?” I asked, “if everyone gets one?” My comment was met with frowns and raised eyebrows. Someone said, “But the children who don’t get one will cry!” Well . . . children cry. They are learning about life sometimes when they’re crying. Everyone is not a winner, no matter how much we want them to be. Now those parents are reaping the reward of THAT decision.

I could go on and on. Sometimes my opinion is wrong, but I do have one. I keep them to myself now as I’m not involved in a lot of what is going on in the world. I’m interested in it, but really, how much does it affect me and does anyone care what I think?

One thought on “Observer

  1. You’re right about the trophy thing as real life is harder than that. Also that is not encouraging them to try harder, to try their best. Do you have any other hobbies / interests? Your opinion is still valid and as important as anyone else’s.

Leave a Reply

