Testing the Waters

I’ve been out of work several months. I developed a condition that made me have to quit work. I’m surprised frequently by side effects of the condition. I sat through a movie one afternoon at a theater and when it was time to leave, I discovered I could not walk without holding onto someone. Luckily one of the people leaving the movie let me hold onto her arm until I reached a railing. It was that experience that caused me to begin doubting what I could do.

Tomorrow I plan to drive to another town to visit a place that I want to see. I hope it goes well. I probably should just buy a cane and take it with me. I’m not sure how to use one.

Actually this past Monday, I drove to another town to pick up my W2 form and I did really well when I got there.

Let’s hope that’s how tomorrow turns out.

7 thoughts on “Testing the Waters

  1. I get stuck sometimes because of the inflammation, I can only walk a few steps, but when I’ve a good day I go for a mini walk outside. I suggest you buy an orthopaedic handled cane as they’re easier on the wrist. A physio instructed me to walk with the cane on the better side of your body. I hope this helps and you have an enjoyable day tomorrow. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Congratulations. I have a friend who is student teaching this semester. She’s almost 70. You’re a young person. ๐Ÿ™‚ Your course of study sounds very interesting.

      • Part of me feels young but my poor health makes me feel much older. That’s great about your friend ๐Ÿ™‚ my mum is very active at almost 80. We think attitude has a lot to do with it. I love my design course, I get a lot of support from the Open University. I grew up quite fast and so I’m living my life backwards ๐Ÿ˜‰ what interests do you have?

Leave a Reply

