Observations

Older people do not get the respect in America that they get in other countries. They are the subject of jokes and many of their viewpoints are scoffed at.

Younger people do not understand the power of experience. They do as they get it for themselves and they learn, as we all did, what to avoid and what might be a good idea.

Just as when I hear a siren, I know an emergency vehicle is close by, I also can predict what will happen in certain situations because I’ve lived through them. No one wants to listen, so I frequently don’t share the warning I hear in my mind when I see approaching problems or when I even know the solutions. I’ve had too many comments about my age and my lack of understanding. However those who scoffed have come back and asked later how did I know that would happen? Experience. I’ve had it happen to me before, or I’ve seen it happen.

Now that I am not working outside my home, I have more time to observe things. I have many observations and some of them are funny while others are tragic. I’m still learning and hope I learn new things until the day I die. (I guess I will learn something new that day as well.)

When Americans slow down and value the older generation like some other countries do, perhaps people will quit speeding through their lives and learn some tricks and tips to help them.

Meanwhile I’ll just keep watching what I know is going to happen, and wish someone would have asked my opinion (or listened) before they did that.

“Experience is the best teacher” is a quote I’ve often heard. Here are some other quotes about experience:

http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/topics/topic_experience.html

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Observations

  1. It is the arrogance of younger people to scoff the older generation, however I don’t think all younger people are like that – I wasn’t. I always respected older people. Because I have older parents, I had older grandparents and was only able to get to know one of them well. That was my grandad. I loved that man so much! He was patient and kind, showed me how to plant seedlings. He gave me a terrarium filled with succulents and a book on gardening which I treasured. We only had a short time to bond because I was rarely taken to see him.

    I know what you are saying about the reverence held for the older generation in certain Asian cultures. I think that’s a nice way to be, too. Western cultures can learn something there! 🙂

    All the best. 🙂

Leave a Reply

