Stay Off The Internet

I know older people who do not like computers. I’ve always prided myself on being able to use them and on keeping up with new things. I even worked for IBM for a year. I taught school at a magnet school that specialized in technology and gave us all weekly lessons on computer use and sent me for a two week course to Carolina University in Chapel Hill. I took a graduate course on virtual reality at ECU.

Now though, I think it is all a mistake for people my age to go on the internet.

A few days ago, a little two year old boy was killed by an alligator/drowning in Florida at Disney World. Disney World will never hold the charm for me that it had before. I was fortunate enough to take my two older sons to Disney World when they were young. I had pleasant memories of the trip.

The last thing I wanted to see was a picture of that precious baby who lost his life last week at Disney World. I deliberately avoided anything that might contain a picture of him. This old heart could not stand the thought of it and what his parents and sister and grandparents must be going through was more than I could think about. It broke my heart.

Then one day, there it was on my Yahoo page. All I was doing was trying to get to my email to check it, and up popped an article with pictures about the tragedy.

It may be time for me to join the throngs of elders who eschew the internet. I cannot, simply, my heart cannot, tolerate the pain I feel at the tragedy of others. I’d just begun to recover from the shootings at the Pulse club in Orlando and now this????

Life was far simpler when we didn’t know everything about everybody like we do now.

Those with brave faces who post how wonderful their lives are . . . thank you for lying to me. I hate liars, but I hate the constant bombardment of tragedy and sorrow that I am subjected to on the internet even more.

The story is not about me. It’s about an unbearable tragedy of a young family who was just having some fun with their children. But when you get to be my age, you know how that tragedy will affect them the rest of their lives.

My precious nephew died at age 16 months. I don’t think my heart has ever completely gotten over it. This family has so much grief. So much grief that I cannot bear to think about it. I pray for them and I worry about them and I’d love to help them.

But I know there’s nothing I can do. I cannot even avoid the pictures of what once was and the thought of what is now.

 

 

Leave a Reply

