Say It Isn’t So

One of my sons doesn’t like me. He rejects every suggestion I make. Somehow he has been convinced by “friends” of his that I am the enemy.

I don’t know what to do.

He has two college degrees. One is in Aerospace Engineering. Yet, one of those “friends” convinced him to apply for a job as a custodian because he hadn’t yet found a job in Engineering. Thank God they didn’t hire him for that.

Somehow she’s convinced him to work now in an un-air-conditioned warehouse making boxes and putting labels on the boxes.

His other degree is in Psychology.

Why can’t he see what I can see? He needs to get away from these “friends” and live the life he should be living.

I sent him a link to a school district that was paying new Math Teachers a $5000 sign on bonus. He tutors math and is very good at it. That employer gives him rave reviews. He could teach using a lateral entry certification. He would be more among “peers” than he is in that hot warehouse doing menial work.

There’s nothing wrong with menital work, but if you’ve gone deeply into debt to acquire two college degrees, you should try to find a job that requires at least one of them.

I don’t know what I’ve done wrong. I don’t know why an adult person would still be listening to peers’ poor advice, as if he were still in high school.

The more I say, the more he digs his heels in and defends his friends.

He’s a brillant person. What the hell is going on? Say it isn’t so.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Leave a Reply

