Millennials

Millennials (also known as Generation Y, Generation Me and Echo Boomers) are the demographic cohort following Generation X. There are no precise dates for when this cohort starts or ends; demographers and researchers typically use the early 1980s as starting birth years and ending birth years ranging from the mid-1990s to early 2000s.

source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Millennials

I am the mother of three Millennials. I’ve seen the dates listed as 1982 to 2004.

Millennials. In October 2004, researchers Neil Howe and William Strauss calledMillennials “the next great generation,” which is funny. They define the group as “as those born in 1982 and approximately the 20 years thereafter.” In 2012, they affixed the end point as 2004.

source: http://www.theatlantic.com/national/archive/2014/03/here-is-when-each-generation-begins-and-ends-according-to-facts/359589/

My oldest child identifies with the Millennials. He was born in late 1981.

Yesterday I got into a very public disagreement with my two oldest sons on Facebook. It upset me terribly and I’m still upset.

That may be the reason why this group of young people – and they’re not that young anymore. . . some are in their 30’s already . . . but their ability to upset older generations might be one of the reasons this group refuses to grow up.

They are identified by their ability to whine, whine, whine their way through every problem.

My generation, the Baby Boomers (who are not dying quickly enough to suit the Millennials, or perhaps not retiring soon enough), complained about the Vietnam War. When we were young, if you were male, between the ages of 18 and 26, you could be called up (drafted by the government) and sent off to fight and possibly die in Vietnam. We protested; we did what we could to end that war. We did not tell our elders, who lived through World War II that this was all their fault and they had ruined our lves. We were actively seeking a resolution. I did not tell my mother that the Vietnam War was her fault, or the fault of her generation. We blamed the politicians who were too old to fight, so they sent us in their places. There was a generation gap. We all acknowledged it, but we had respect for those who were older than we were.

Now Baby Boomers are being blamed for lack of jobs in America. I didn’t outsource any jobs. I didn’t hire any immigrants to work instead of hiring folks who were already here and seeking jobs. The politicians made this mess.

The only politician I know, who has any chance of making lives better for Millennials – the only one who speaks daily about bringing jobs back to America – is Donald Trump. Donald Trump has created some businesses and some jobs and looking at his family, when they take the stage with him, he has done a good job teaching them how to present themselves. He’s not perfect. I’ve never seen a leader who was.But he does want to bring jobs back to America, and that’s admirable.

I warned other parents when the idea of “Participation Trophies” was popular, that it was not a good idea to eliminate competition. There is no pride in receiving something that everyone receives. That was what made America so great in the past. You had the chance to work and grab your own rewards. The Millennials never quite grasped that concept.

All I hear from my brilliant son who has both a Psychology Degree and an Engineering Degree is that there are no jobs. He has taken a job in a call center and says he had to do it to pay his bills. His bills consist of student loans and a car payment, plus his rent for a room from someone he thinks is a friend, but whom I think is a hindrance to his progress. She is the one who has encouraged him to take a low paying job. He had a job here making twice that amount per hour. True, it wasn’t full time, but why work 40 hours a week when you can work 20 and make the same amount of money and spend that other 20 hours a week job searching?

Millennials do not listen to any advice from their elders. All they do is resent them. I suppose when they are 50, they will still blame the finally dead baby boomers for the messes their lives have become. They will never think that they could have done something differently to change how they lived.

My oldest has a job he doesn’t enjoy. He is trying to go back to school and change his career. When he majored in Philosophy, I told him he would have a hard time finding a job with that major. No . . . he was going to be a Minister or a Lawyer. Both of the grad schools for those careers liked a Philosophy Degree. But he went no farther than getting the Philosophy Degree.

My youngest son has attended four different universities. He studied abroad in Japan at one of them. He arranged that himself. He never once came to me to help him work it out or figure it out. He fell in love with Asia while in Japan, and he has spent much of his time since school in Asia. He doesn’t blame me (at least not out loud) for any problems he has in his life. He was born in 1988. There is a span of seven years between my oldest and my youngest.

I have done all I  could – sometimes MORE than I could – to help my children. Perhaps it’s time for this Baby Boomer to get out of the way and devote her time and energy to herself and let the chips fall where they may. They don’t listen to me anyway. Or if they do, they somehow think doing the opposite of what I suggest is the solution.

I am the mother of three Milennials. If you are so inclined, please pray for me. As hard as it is seeing this generation go through life with their complaints, like there are no other countries to move to that do have jobs, . . . with their whine, like there is nothing they can do about their plight . . . it is even harder when three of them are your own.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

 

Leave a Reply

