Cancer Versus Post Traumatic Stress

I saw a post on facebook this morning where a person had been diagnosed with cancer. The response and support was incredible.

My first thought was how nice it is to get sympathy and encouraging comments when you are physically ill.

My second thought was how nice it would be if mental illness were responded to in the same way.

I wonder if I posted “I’ve been diagnosed with Post Traumatic Stress Disorder” if anyone would say one sympathetic word to me? I know people with PTSD and no one seems to understand how devastating that can be to their lives.

It is just as devastating as Cancer, but without the support.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Leave a Reply

