Happy Birthday, Conrad

Today is my middle child’s birthday. That’s all I’ve thought about this morning. He was born at 6:35 am on a spring-like morning.  My flowers, Daffodils and Crocus, were already blooming. I remember this because his older brother stopped in the front yard on the way to visit me in the hospital and picked all my flowers to bring to me. He was two years old at the time. I was delighted to see him and the flowers.

It was a difficult delivery and I was glad they let children come up to visit mothers then. I was in the hospital for five days and it would have been very difficult to go that long without seeing my firstborn. I think the most fascinating thing to my oldest were the controls that controlled my hospital bed. I still remember him pushing the buttons and saying, “Mama go up; Mama go down” as the bed went up and down. I was amused. His father made him stop, but it was actually the most fun I’d had so far.

The son born on March 11, Conrad, has grown into a young man with two college degrees from NCSU. He has one in aerospace engineering (rocket scientist – who knew I was birthing a rocket scientist that day?) and one in psychology. He’s also a natural teacher and does well as a tutor for advanced subjects.

Conrad

Leave a Reply

